Trinity Column - Plague Column


The construction of this unique, baroque monument resulted from the vow of the Baden citizenship on the occasion of their surviving the plague in 1713 and was executed by the Italian sculptor Giovanni Stanetti after the plans of the painter Altomonte. The construction work lasted from 1714 to 1718. In the place of the present so-called ‘plague column’ there was once a pillory. A Roman stone bench was found during the foundation work - evidence for the existence of the erstwhile Aquae.  In front of this Trinity Column, the Ferdinand's Fountain became operational on June 13th 1833. It is intended to commemorate the failed assassination attempt on the then Crown Prince and later Emperor Ferdinand.